Email This Page Bookmark and Share


Juniors Win Major Awards at Boston College High School Model United Nations Conference

Five members of the Newton Country Day School Model United Nations Committee served as student delegates at the 29th annual Boston College High School Model United Nations Conference. The conference hosted approximately 500 students from 36 schools on 15 different committees that spent the day debating issues of vital global importance.

Two Newton Country Day juniors won major awards at the conference. C. Brown ’18 won the Austin Martin ’95 Best Delegate Award, the highest award on her committee of 40 delegates, and one of the top 15 awards given at the conference. Brown represented Iran on the United Nations Commission on the Status of Women, which debated ways to improve the access to education for women and girls around the world. Model UN Co-chair C. Murphy Racette ’18 received the Outstanding Delegate award on her White House Summit on Freedom of Speech committee. Murphy Racette held the position of Democratic Minority Leader of the House of Representatives Nancy Pelosi. The committee endeavored to uphold the right of free speech.

Other Newton Country Day Model UN members who participated included J. Dubuque ’19, who represented Norway on the World Health Organization and debated anti-microbial resistant bacteria, M. Mahoney ’17, who represented Parliament Member John Hayes in the British House of Commons and debated the consequences of the Brexit vote, and J. Page ’19, who represented India on the United Nations Security Council and debated the proliferation of nuclear weapons.


Archive by Month

search login